My journey to Self-Love

It is so easy to look at yourself in the mirror and see so called  faults with yourself. I am one of those people. When I look in the mirror I can quite easily see what seems to me is my mummy tummy, my regrowing hair my uneven eyebrows and all the wobbly bits I have accumulated over the past few years. 

But I am far too hard on myself. And I am sure there are many others like me out there that go about there apperace in the same way as I do. I am here to tell you to look at yourself in a different light. I am fully aware that a little token blog post wont radically change the way you look and see your self,  but it is something im currently going through. I am learning to love myself.  I am learning to enjoy who I am and what I like,  aswell as to look at myself as a whole and not to focus on the things I think are wrong with me. Whatever I have on my body, whatever excess or new processes my body is going through are my story to who I am. It is what defines me as me. It is my story and the journey I have been on to lead me to be who I am today. 

For too long I have longed to look a different way, to be thinner, have better skin, sleeker hair or better eyebrows but today I am no longer longing for something else. Today I have realised that I am who I am and I love myself for it. 

I am on an amazing journey of self discovery. As I am learning to love my self and most importantly respect myself. I keep finding even more avenues I want to learn and take on board in order for me to grow as a person and a mother. I want to teach my children how to be the best versions of themselves and how they can grow up loving and respecting themselves. I want them to be self confident and positive. How could they if I am not able to display this behaviour myself? The answer is I couldn’t.  I wouldn’t have the credability.

Growing up I used to  draw a picture of myself and would actually label the things that I thought were my bad points. I would add arrows, literally pointing them out. Now that may sound extreme but what is the difference really with drawing them out or mentally picking them out when standing infront of a mirror?  They are both equally as negative and toxic. Just executed in different ways. 

This way of thinking will not aid you in becoming the best person that you can be. It will not help you with growth or your mental positivity. Every human being is capable of loving themselves. Allow yourself to truly embrace who you are by listening to your mind and body, and enjoy who you are. As corny as it sounds, follow your heart. Embody your emotions and strive for positivity.

My husband said something that I will always remember. He said that the imperfections that you feel towards yourself are only in your head and that others will not be looking at or for those things. But they notice the positive things and the beauty that you have and show. Confidence shines through and your beauty radiates when you have love and respect for yourself.  

7 thoughts on “My journey to Self-Love

  1. This is such a beautiful post. I am on the journey to self acceptance as well. I believe that blogging helps sooooo much. I wish you all the luck in the world #dreamteam

  2. I love this piece. It’s so beautifully written and inspiring. There need to be more posts like this out there as I think that so many of us have such a long way to go before we can fully embrace ourselves for all our imperfections. Your husband sounds like a very wise man and it’s lovely that he is so supportive. Thanks for sharing with #DreamTeam x

  3. I love the sound of your journey to self love and discovery. This has become so much more important to me since I became a mum. All of a sudden, its important to me that I dont use words like fat, or get hung up on body weight or appearances. Its important to have a healthy and positive self body image so that I can teach our children the same thing 🙂 Emily #DreamTeam

Leave a Reply

